CVE-2026-15226 — snapd snap-confine Sandbox Confinement Bypass via Omission of setuid Restriction in Seccomp Templates
A sandbox confinement bypass vulnerability exists in Canonical snapd within its internal execution environment compiler (snap-confine). The default seccomp security templates generated by the engine to restrict system calls do not filter or reject process operations capable of creating or manipulating file execution flags with set-user-ID attributes. Consequently, an application running within a strictly confined snap environment can successfully compile or drop binaries and apply setuid properties to them. If a compromised or malicious process inside the snap sandbox executes these generated setuid binaries, it can potentially circumvent architectural sandboxing assumptions, drop intended restriction policies, or execute privileged actions inside the container namespace that should otherwise be strictly blocked. The vulnerability has been resolved by hardening the seccomp template engine to block the execution and creation of setuid executables by sandboxed snap processes.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.2% (30-day exploitation probability)+1
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Canonical Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, Canonical Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, Canonical Ubuntu 20.04 LTS…).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (privilege escalation), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canonical | Ubuntu 16.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 18.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 20.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 22.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 24.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 26.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8.4 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 2.0 | 5.8 | security@ubuntu.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 8.4 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | canonical via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:N (score shown at the top: security@ubuntu.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · canonical/ubuntu 26.04 lts, canonical/ubuntu 24.04 lts, canonical/ubuntu 22.04 lts, canonical/ubuntu 20.04 lts, canonica
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 8.4
- Source status changed · → Awaiting Analysis
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 15, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026
References
1 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-8933 snap-confine Local Privilege Escalation via Capabilities Misconfiguration or Flaw in Execution Environment Setup Jul 21, 2026
- Medium CVE-2024-5300 AppArmor Base Profile Misconfiguration in snapd Permits Confined Snaps Unauthorized Access to Hashed Passwords via systemd-userdbd Jul 21, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-9494 ubuntu-pro-client Information Disclosure via Cleartext Bearer Token Exposure in Process Command Line Jul 16, 2026
- Critical CVE-2026-11386 ubuntu-pro-client Input Validation Vulnerability Leading to Arbitrary APT Directive Injection and Remote Code Execution Jul 16, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-12391 ubuntu-pro-client Local Privilege Escalation and Information Disclosure via Symlink Arbitrary File Read in collect-logs Jul 16, 2026
- Critical CVE-2026-12249 Canonical ADSys plaintext HTTP CA certificate retrieval enables trust store poisoning Jun 22, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2026-15226 is "snapd snap-confine Sandbox Confinement Bypass via Omission of setuid Restriction in Seccomp Templates", rated High. It affects Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Canonical); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 8.4 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.18% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.