CVE Intelligence
Critical

CVE-2026-1709 — Keylime Registrar TLS Client Authentication Bypass (CVE-2026-1709)

A flaw was found in Keylime. The Keylime registrar, since version 7.12.0, does not enforce client-side Transport Layer Security (TLS) authentication. This authentication bypass vulnerability allows unauthenticated clients with network access to perform administrative operations, including listing agents, retrieving public Trusted Platform Module (TPM) data, and deleting agents, by connecting without presenting a client certificate.

Published Feb 6, 2026 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 5.8% (30-day exploitation probability)+14
  • Technical severity (critical)+10
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
5.79%
ahead of 93% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Keylime
Keylime and 11 more
CVSS base
9.8
Critical · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Keylime Keylime, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Red Hat Enterprise Linux Eus…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. EPSS ahead of 93% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Keylime Keylime < 7.12.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux version 9.0version 10.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Eus version 10.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux For Arm 64 version 9.0_aarch64version 10.0_aarch64 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux For Arm 64 Eus version 10.0_aarch64 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux For Ibm Z Systems version 9.0_s390xversion 10.0_s390x Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux For Ibm Z Systems Eus version 10.0_s390x Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux For Power Little Endian version 9.0_ppc64leversion 10.0_ppc64le Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Enterprise Linux For Power Little Endian Eus version 10.0_ppc64le Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10.0 Extended Update Support versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
9.8 CVSS 3.1 Critical 3.9 5.9 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
9.4 CVSS 3.1 Critical 3.9 5.5 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
9.4 CVSS 3.1 Critical 3.9 5.5 0b0ca135-0b70-47e7-9f44-1890c2a1c46c via NIST National Vulnerability Database
9.4 CVSS 3.1 Critical — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 9.8 (NVD (NIST)) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-322

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 5.79%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Analysis and videos

CVE-2026-1709: Keylime Registrar TLS Client Authentication Bypass
CVE-2026-1709 is a critical authentication bypass in the Keylime registrar, which the record says does not enforce client-side TLS authentication. According to the record, an unauthenticated client with network access could perform administrative operations such as listing agents, retrieving public TPM data and deleting agents. The sources consulted show no confirmed exploitation, and the record lists no fixed version.

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat enterprise linux 10, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 10.0 extended update support, red hat/red hat ente
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 9.8
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    Feb 6, 2026 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

6 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Keylime
every CVE for this vendor
CWE-322
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-110924 Openssh: openssh: gssapi delegated credentials can be stored after a failed authentication 5h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110927 Openssh: openssh: a compressed payload can expand past the maximum packet size 5h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110926 Openssh: openssh: shared lz77 compression dictionary leaks plaintext across channels 13h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110925 Openssh: openssh: '$' and '\' in a command-line username expand through %u 13h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110923 Openssh: openssh: sftp can write outside the destination directory from a server-supplied path 13h
  • High CVE-2026-86848 Dpdk: dpdk: time-of-check/time-of-use vulnerability allowing guest-triggered out-of-bounds write in vhost-crypto 1d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2026-1709 is "Keylime Registrar TLS Client Authentication Bypass (CVE-2026-1709)", rated Critical. It affects Keylime (Keylime); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 9.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 5.79% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.