CVE Intelligence
High Injection

CVE-2026-17615 — Resteasy-core: resteasy sourceprovider remote unauthenticated file read

A flaw was found in RESTEasy's SourceProvider. This vulnerability allows an unauthenticated attacker to perform an unauthenticated remote file read. By sending a specially crafted XML body with a DOCTYPE declaration referencing external entities to an endpoint that accepts application/xml and returns Source or StreamSource, the server can be tricked into resolving the entity and including sensitive file contents in the HTTP response. This is due to the SourceProvider.writeTo() method creating a SAXParser without disabling external entity resolution, leading to an XML External Entity (XXE) vulnerability.

Published Aug 31, 2026 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 0.6% (30-day exploitation probability)+7
  • Technical severity (high)+6
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
0.62%
ahead of 49% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Red Hat
Jboss Enterprise Application Platform Expansion Pack and 10 more
CVSS base
7.5
High · 2 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Jboss Enterprise Application Platform Expansion Pack, Red Hat Red Hat Build of Apache Camel 3.33.3.SP1, Red Hat Red Hat build of Apache Camel 4 for Quarkus 3…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Red Hat Jboss Enterprise Application Platform Expansion Pack versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Build of Apache Camel 3.33.3.SP1 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat build of Apache Camel 4 for Quarkus 3 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat build of Apicurio Registry 3 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat build of Debezium 3 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.6 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.4 Update Services for SAP Solutions versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.6 Extended Update Support versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform 8 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
None
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High 3.9 3.6 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-611 · XML External Entity (XXE)

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.62%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSapplication logsendpoint telemetry (EDR)

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat build of apache camel 3.33.3.sp1, red hat/red hat build of keycloak 26.6, red hat/red hat enterprise lin
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 7.5
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Awaiting Analysis
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    Aug 31, 2026 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

10 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Red Hat
every CVE for this vendor
Injection
same class
CWE-611
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-85634 Wildfly-core: wildfly-core: deployer rbac role privilege escalation via path traversal in deployment name 6h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110924 Openssh: openssh: gssapi delegated credentials can be stored after a failed authentication 9h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110927 Openssh: openssh: a compressed payload can expand past the maximum packet size 9h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110926 Openssh: openssh: shared lz77 compression dictionary leaks plaintext across channels 17h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110925 Openssh: openssh: '$' and '\' in a command-line username expand through %u 17h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110923 Openssh: openssh: sftp can write outside the destination directory from a server-supplied path 17h

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2026-17615 is "Resteasy-core: resteasy sourceprovider remote unauthenticated file read", rated High. It affects Jboss Enterprise Application Platform Expansion Pack (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.62% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.