CVE-2026-18942 — Feast-operator: feast: feast apply cronjob runs user python with feature-server sa — tenant code to sa token escalation
A flaw was found in the Feast operator. A malicious tenant could inject arbitrary code into their feature repository. This code would be executed by an automated process with elevated privileges, allowing the tenant to steal sensitive credentials. This could lead to a direct escalation of privileges, granting the tenant administrative control over the Kubernetes cluster.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.4% (30-day exploitation probability)+5
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift AI 2.25, Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift AI 3.4).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift AI 2.25 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift AI 3.4 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 0.7 | 4.7 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:L/A:L (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat openshift ai 2.25, red hat/red hat openshift ai 3.4
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 5.5
- Source status changed · → Awaiting Analysis
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 15, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026
References
4 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-15218 Models-as-a-service: red hat openshift ai: maas-api and maas-controller serviceaccounts with excessive permissions lead to privilege escalation Aug 17, 2026
- High CVE-2026-18950 Odh-dashboard: odh-dashboard: confused-deputy privilege escalation via unchecked roleref in rolebinding creation Aug 10, 2026
- High CVE-2026-18982 Odh-training-operator-rhel9: rhoai fork aggregates training job create onto native edit/admin clusterroles Aug 10, 2026
- High CVE-2026-18951 Odh-training-operator-rhel9: [trainer v2 security] trn-02: rhoai overlay aggregates trainjobs crud into standard edit clusterrole Aug 10, 2026
- High CVE-2026-18947 Feast: feast: authorization bypass in /materialize endpoints enables dos via unauthorized full re-materialization Aug 10, 2026
- High CVE-2026-18949 Odh-dashboard: odh-dashboard: clusterrole grants cluster-wide crud on secrets and rbac management resources Aug 10, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2026-18942 is "Feast-operator: feast: feast apply cronjob runs user python with feature-server sa — tenant code to sa token escalation", rated Medium. It affects Red Hat OpenShift AI 2.25 (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 5.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.39% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.