CVE Intelligence
High

CVE-2026-2100 — P11-kit: null dereference via c_derivekey with specific null parameters

A flaw was found in p11-kit. A remote attacker could exploit this vulnerability by calling the C_DeriveKey function on a remote token with specific IBM kyber or IBM btc derive mechanism parameters set to NULL. This could lead to the RPC-client attempting to return an uninitialized value, potentially resulting in a NULL dereference or undefined behavior. This issue may cause an application level denial of service or other unpredictable system states.

Published Mar 26, 2026 · Updated Oct 14, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP, GitHub Security Advisories · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 1.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+10
  • Technical severity (high)+6
  • Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
1.26%
ahead of 69% of scored CVEs · Oct 15, 2026
Affects
P11-glue
P11-kit and 10 more
CVSS base
7.5
High · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
Yes
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

  • Documented patch — github.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (P11-glue P11-kit, P11-kit Project P11-kit, Red Hat Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.17…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
  4. Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
P11-glue P11-kit < 0.26.2 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
P11-kit Project P11-kit versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.17 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.20 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Cost Management 4 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Enterprise Linux version 9.0version 10.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Hardened Images versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Hardened Images versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Insights proxy 1.5 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
None
Integrity
None
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
7.5 CVSS 3.1 High 3.9 3.6 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium 3.9 1.4 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories
5.3 CVSS 3.1 Medium — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 7.5 (NVD (NIST)) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-824

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 3 reading(s) · max 1.26%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPS

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products removed · 1
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat hardened images
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Affected products added · red hat/cert manager support for red hat openshift release 1.17, red hat/cert manager support for red hat openshift rele
    Oct 14, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Affected products added · p11-glue/p11-kit, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 10, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 9, red hat/cert manager support
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • Fix documented
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVSS changed · 7.5
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    Mar 26, 2026 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 3× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

21 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

P11-glue
every CVE for this vendor
CWE-824
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-110924 Openssh: openssh: gssapi delegated credentials can be stored after a failed authentication 14h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110927 Openssh: openssh: a compressed payload can expand past the maximum packet size 14h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110923 Openssh: openssh: sftp can write outside the destination directory from a server-supplied path 22h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110925 Openssh: openssh: '$' and '\' in a command-line username expand through %u 22h
  • Medium CVE-2026-110926 Openssh: openssh: shared lz77 compression dictionary leaks plaintext across channels 22h
  • Medium CVE-2026-86847 Dpdk: dpdk: guest can trigger infinite loop in vhost-crypto writeback chain cleanup 1d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2026-2100 is "P11-kit: null dereference via c_derivekey with specific null parameters", rated High. It affects P11-kit (P11-glue); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.26% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.