CVE Intelligence
High Access control

CVE-2026-3009 — Org.keycloak/keycloak-services: improper enforcement of disabled identity provider in identitybrokerservice (authentication bypass)

A security flaw in the IdentityBrokerService.performLogin endpoint of Keycloak allows authentication to proceed using an Identity Provider (IdP) even after it has been disabled by an administrator. An attacker who knows the IdP alias can reuse a previously generated login request to bypass the administrative restriction. This undermines access control enforcement and may allow unauthorized authentication through a disabled external provider.

Published Mar 5, 2026 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 0.5% (30-day exploitation probability)+6
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
0.49%
ahead of 41% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Red Hat
Build Of Keycloak and 4 more
CVSS base
8.1
High · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Build Of Keycloak, Red Hat Jboss Enterprise Application Platform, Red Hat Jboss Enterprise Application Platform Expansion Pack…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
  5. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (access control), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Red Hat Build Of Keycloak versions not specified by the sourceversion 26.4version 26.4.10 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Jboss Enterprise Application Platform version 8.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Jboss Enterprise Application Platform Expansion Pack versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Red Hat build of Keycloak 26.4 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Single Sign-on version 7.0 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
None
User interaction
Required
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
None

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
8.1 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.2 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.1 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.2 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.1 CVSS 3.1 High 2.8 5.2 0b0ca135-0b70-47e7-9f44-1890c2a1c46c via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.1 CVSS 3.1 High — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-863 · Incorrect Authorization

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.49%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Audit administrative actions and access to resources outside each user’s normal pattern.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSauthentication logsapplication logs

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · red hat/red hat build of keycloak 26.4
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 8.1
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    Mar 5, 2026 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

5 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Red Hat
every CVE for this vendor
Access control
same class
CWE-863
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-109082 Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: ciba confidential-only contract not enforced for public clients 3d
  • Medium CVE-2026-107889 Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: stored xss on login page via kcsanitize bypass 6d
  • Medium CVE-2026-107623 Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: oidc dcr read-modify-write silently disables offline token revocation 7d
  • Medium CVE-2026-107604 Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: view-clients role allows retrieval of active client secrets via installation provider endpoints 7d
  • Medium CVE-2026-107121 Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: smtp starttls plaintext credential and message downgrade 8d
  • Medium CVE-2026-105305 Keycloak-services: keycloak-services: device authorization grant bypasses per-client minimum.acr.value enforcement 9d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2026-3009 is "Org.keycloak/keycloak-services: improper enforcement of disabled identity provider in identitybrokerservice (authentication bypass)", rated High. It affects Build Of Keycloak (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 8.1 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.49% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.