CVE-2026-3832 — Gnutls: gnutls: security bypass allows acceptance of revoked server certificates via crafted ocsp response
A flaw was found in gnutls. A remote attacker could exploit this vulnerability by presenting a specially crafted Online Certificate Status Protocol (OCSP) response during a TLS handshake. Due to a logic error in how gnutls processes multi-record OCSP responses, a client with OCSP verification enabled may incorrectly accept a revoked server certificate, potentially leading to a compromise of trust.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.9% (30-day exploitation probability)+9
- CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Gnu Gnutls, Red Hat Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.17, Red Hat Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gnu | Gnutls | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.17 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.18 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Cert Manager support for Red Hat OpenShift release 1.20 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Enterprise Linux | version 7.0version 10.0version 9.0version 8.0version 6.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Hardened Images | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Hardened Images | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Openshift Container Platform | version 4.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Discovery 2 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10.0 Extended Update Support | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform 4 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Update Infrastructure 5 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Low | 2.2 | 1.4 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 3.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Low | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 3.7 | CVSS 3.1 | Low | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.93%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products removed · 1
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat hardened images
- Affected products added · red hat/cert manager support for red hat openshift release 1.17, red hat/cert manager support for red hat openshift rele
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat enterprise linux 10, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 10.0 extended update support, red hat/red hat ente
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 3.7
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 3× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
20 on the record
- gitlab.com/gnutls/gnutls/-/issues/1801
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-3832
- bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:13274
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:20613
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82322
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82857
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:72502
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:26319
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82304
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82372
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82347
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:58981
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:26409
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-3rqj-4qqw-jgwr
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82354
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:20612
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:29197
- access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-3832
- access.redhat.com/errata/RHSA-2026:82888
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-92982 Ansible-operator-plugins: ansible operator plugins: arbitrary code execution via jinja2 template injection 4h
- Medium CVE-2026-110924 Openssh: openssh: gssapi delegated credentials can be stored after a failed authentication 6h
- Medium CVE-2026-110927 Openssh: openssh: a compressed payload can expand past the maximum packet size 6h
- Medium CVE-2026-110923 Openssh: openssh: sftp can write outside the destination directory from a server-supplied path 14h
- Medium CVE-2026-110926 Openssh: openssh: shared lz77 compression dictionary leaks plaintext across channels 14h
- Medium CVE-2026-110925 Openssh: openssh: '$' and '\' in a command-line username expand through %u 14h
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2026-3832 is "Gnutls: gnutls: security bypass allows acceptance of revoked server certificates via crafted ocsp response", rated Low. It affects Gnutls (Gnu); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 3.7 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.93% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.