CVE Intelligence
High Injection exploit reference

CVE-2026-44495 — Axios: Credential Theft and Response Hijacking via Prototype Pollution Gadget in Config Merge

Axios is a promise based HTTP client for the browser and Node.js. From 0.19.0 to before 0.31.1 and 1.15.2, Axios contains prototype-pollution gadgets in request config processing. If another vulnerability in the same JavaScript process has already polluted Object.prototype.transformResponse, affected Axios versions may treat that inherited value as request configuration or as an option validator. Axios does not itself create the prototype pollution. Exploitability requires a separate prototype-pollution vulnerability or equivalent attacker control over Object.prototype before Axios creates a request. This vulnerability is fixed in 0.31.1 and 1.15.2.

Published Jun 11, 2026 · Updated Oct 13, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: GitHub_M

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • EPSS 1% (30-day exploitation probability)+9
  • Technical severity (high)+6
  • CISA SSVC: exploitation "poc"+5

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
1.04%
ahead of 63% of scored CVEs · Oct 14, 2026
Affects
Axios
Axios and 11 more
CVSS base
7.7
High · 4 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
Proof of concept
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Total
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Axios Axios, Red Hat Advanced Cluster Management For Kubernetes, Red Hat Advanced Cluster Security…).
  2. The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
  3. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  4. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Axios Axios ≥ 0.19.0 and < 0.31.1≥ 1.0.0 and < 1.15.2 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Axios Axios version >= 1.0.0, < 1.15.2version >= 0.19.0, < 0.31.1 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Advanced Cluster Management For Kubernetes < 2.13.9 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Advanced Cluster Security < 4.10.3 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform version 2.6 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Data Grid version 8.6.2 Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Developer Hub versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Discovery versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Openshift Container Platform versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Openshift Dev Spaces versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Openshift Service Mesh versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Openshift Virtualization versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database
Red Hat Quay versions not specified by the source Vulnerable NIST National Vulnerability Database

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Network
Attack complexity
High
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Scope
Unchanged
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
Low
Availability
High

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
7.7 CVSS 3.1 High 2.2 5.5 nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.0 CVSS 3.1 High 2.2 4.7 security-advisories@github.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.0 CVSS 3.1 High 2.2 4.7 0b0ca135-0b70-47e7-9f44-1890c2a1c46c via NIST National Vulnerability Database
7.0 CVSS 3.1 High — — GitHub_M via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:L/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov)
Scoring entities (NIST, CNA, ADP) score independently; each score is shown with its origin. For prioritization we use 7.7 (NVD (NIST)) as a conservative provisional reference — not a definitive official score.

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-94 · Code Injection

Other CVEs with this weakness →

EPSS over time FIRST

Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 1.04%

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
  • Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
web/proxy/WAF logsnetwork IDS/IPSapplication logsendpoint telemetry (EDR)

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · axios/axios
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 13, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 13, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 7.7
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Modified
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 13, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    Jun 11, 2026 · GitHub_M

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026

References

53 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Axios
every CVE for this vendor
Injection
same class
CWE-94
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • Medium CVE-2026-101899 Axios: CIDR-form NO_PROXY entries are ignored, causing proxy exclusion bypass for internal IP ranges 2d
  • Critical CVE-2026-107935 Gvisor-tap-vsock: gvisor-tap-vsock: unathenticated arbitrary file deletion on the host via /expose 6d
  • Medium CVE-2026-104045 Sssd: sssd: denial of service via race condition in autofs responder 9d
  • Medium CVE-2026-104046 Sssd: sssd: denial of service via incomplete identity provider authentication requests 9d
  • High CVE-2026-104048 Sssd: sssd: authorization bypass via cross-domain username collision in hbac evaluation 9d
  • Medium CVE-2026-104047 Sssd: sssd: information disclosure via query injection in entra id lookups 9d

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2026-44495 is "Axios: Credential Theft and Response Hijacking via Prototype Pollution Gadget in Config Merge", rated High. It affects Axios (Axios); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.7 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.04% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.