CVE-2026-80090 — Microsoft Office Word Information Disclosure Vulnerability
Out-of-bounds read in Microsoft Office Word allows an unauthorized attacker to disclose information over a network.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 0.9% (30-day exploitation probability)+9
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — msrc.microsoft.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Microsoft 365 Apps, Microsoft Microsoft 365, Microsoft Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | 365 Apps | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft 365 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft 365 Apps for Enterprise | ≥ 16.0.1 and < 16.0.20326.20138 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2019 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 2019 | ≥ 19.0.0 and < 16.0.10417.20207 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office 365 for Mac | ≥ 1.0.0 and < 16.113.26091433 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office LTSC 2021 | ≥ 16.0.1 and < 16.0.14334.20906 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office LTSC 2024 | ≥ 16.0.0 and < 16.0.17932.20976 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office LTSC for Mac 2021 | ≥ 16.0.1 and < 16.113.26091433 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Office LTSC for Mac 2024 | ≥ 16.0.0 and < 16.113.26091433 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Microsoft Word 2016 | ≥ 16.0.1 and < 16.0.5569.1000 | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Microsoft | Office 2021 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Office 2024 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Microsoft | Word | version 2016 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 2.8 | 3.6 | secure@microsoft.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 6.5 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | microsoft via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N (score shown at the top: secure@microsoft.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · microsoft/365 apps, microsoft/microsoft 365, microsoft/office 2019, microsoft/office 2021, microsoft/office 2024, micros
- Source status changed · Published → Analyzed
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 6.5
- Source status changed · → Published
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
1 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-108453 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 1h
- Medium CVE-2026-108454 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 1h
- Medium CVE-2026-108455 Microsoft Office PowerPoint Information Disclosure Vulnerability 1h
- High CVE-2026-108450 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 1h
- High CVE-2026-108451 Microsoft Office Word Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 1h
- High CVE-2026-108448 Microsoft Office Outlook Remote Code Execution Vulnerability 1h
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2026-80090 is "Microsoft Office Word Information Disclosure Vulnerability", rated Medium. It affects 365 Apps (Microsoft); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.5 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.92% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.