CVE-2026-84470 — Automation-controller: automation-controller-container: automation-controller/awx: bulk job launch checks instance_groups at read level instead of use level, allowing execution-placement authorization bypass
A flaw was found in Ansible Automation Platform's automation-controller (AWX). The Bulk Job Launch API (POST /api/v2/bulk/job_launch/) authorizes the requested instance_groups with only a read-level permission check, whereas the standard single-job launch path requires use-level permission on the same field. A principal that holds read (but not use) permission on an instance group -- for example the built-in read-only System Auditor role -- together with execute permission on a job template can launch bulk jobs onto instance groups they are not authorized to use, bypassing execution-placement isolation.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 for RHEL 8, Red Hat Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 for RHEL 9, Red Hat Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6…).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (access control), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 for RHEL 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 for RHEL 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6 for RHEL 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.7 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6.4 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 3.1 | 2.7 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 6.4 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:N/I:L/A:L (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Audit administrative actions and access to resources outside each user’s normal pattern.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat ansible automation platform 2.5 for rhel 8, red hat/red hat ansible automation platform 2.5 for rhel 9,
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 6.4
- Source status changed · → Awaiting Analysis
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 15, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026
References
6 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-42784 Sequoia-openpgp: sequoia-openpgp: cryptographic integrity compromise via key flag confusion 29d
- High CVE-2026-71366 Awx: notification backends allow ssrf and credential leakage Aug 24, 2026
- High CVE-2026-71364 Awx: project archive extraction allows path traversal file writes Aug 24, 2026
- High CVE-2026-71365 Awx: webhook status callback ssrf leaks the git pat Aug 18, 2026
- Critical CVE-2026-12564 Automation-controller: automation-controller: kubernetes service account token exfiltration via hashicorp vault credential ssrf Aug 18, 2026
- High CVE-2026-18141 Aap-gateway: aap-gateway: authentication bypass in event-driven ansible via forged http header Jul 31, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No FIRST EPSS score.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2026-84470 is "Automation-controller: automation-controller-container: automation-controller/awx: bulk job launch checks instance_groups at read level instead of use level, allowing execution-placement authorization bypass", rated Medium. It affects Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.5 for RHEL 8 (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 6.4 describes technical severity. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.