CVE-2026-84837 — A flaw was found in rpm. An attacker can exploit a command injection vulnerability by influencing...
A flaw was found in rpm. An attacker can exploit a command injection vulnerability by influencing the path or filename of a tarball processed by `rpmbuild -t*` to include shell metacharacters. This is particularly relevant in automated build or continuous integration (CI) workflows that ingest externally supplied artifact names. Successful exploitation allows for arbitrary command execution with the privileges of the build user, which could lead to information disclosure or disruption of the build environment.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 1.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+10
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Red Hat Hardened Images, Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10, Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7…).
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Exploitation requires user interaction: tighten email/web filtering and warn affected users.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Hat | Hardened Images | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Red Hat | Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.8 | 5.9 | secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 1.30%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
- Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · red hat/red hat hardened images, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 10, red hat/red hat enterprise linux 7, red hat/red ha
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Awaiting Analysis
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
5 on the record
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Medium CVE-2026-110924 Openssh: openssh: gssapi delegated credentials can be stored after a failed authentication 8h
- Medium CVE-2026-110927 Openssh: openssh: a compressed payload can expand past the maximum packet size 8h
- Medium CVE-2026-110925 Openssh: openssh: '$' and '\' in a command-line username expand through %u 16h
- Medium CVE-2026-110923 Openssh: openssh: sftp can write outside the destination directory from a server-supplied path 16h
- Medium CVE-2026-110926 Openssh: openssh: shared lz77 compression dictionary leaks plaintext across channels 16h
- Medium CVE-2026-86856 Dpdk: dpdk: stack and heap buffer overflow in nfp vdpa driver 1d
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2026-84837 is "A flaw was found in rpm. An attacker can exploit a command injection vulnerability by influencing...", rated High. It affects Hardened Images (Red Hat); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.30% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.