CVE-2021-22901 — curl 7.75.0 through 7.76.1 suffers from a use-after-free vulnerability resulting in already freed...
curl 7.75.0 through 7.76.1 suffers from a use-after-free vulnerability resulting in already freed memory being used when a TLS 1.3 session ticket arrives over a connection. A malicious server can use this in rare unfortunate circumstances to potentially reach remote code execution in the client. When libcurl at run-time sets up support for TLS 1.3 session tickets on a connection using OpenSSL, it stores pointers to the transfer in-memory object for later retrieval when a session ticket arrives. If the connection is used by multiple transfers (like with a reused HTTP/1.1 connection or multiplexed HTTP/2 connection) that first transfer object might be freed before the new session is established on that connection and then the function will access a memory buffer that might be freed. When using that memory, libcurl might even call a function pointer in the object, making it possible for a remote code execution if the server could somehow manage to get crafted memory content into the correct place in memory.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 60.1% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — cert-portal.siemens.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — curl.se (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — github.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Haxx Curl, Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager, Netapp Cloud Backup…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 99% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haxx | Curl | ≥ 7.75.0 and ≤ 7.76.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Active Iq Unified Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Cloud Backup | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300e Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500e Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700e Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Hci Compute Node Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Oncommand Insight | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Oncommand Workflow Automation | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Snapcenter | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire & Hci Management Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire Baseboard Management Controller Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Solidfire, Enterprise Sds & Hci Storage Node | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Cloud Native Core Binding Support Function | version 1.11.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Cloud Native Core Network Function Cloud Native Environment | version 1.10.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Cloud Native Core Network Repository Function | version 1.15.0version 1.15.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Cloud Native Core Network Slice Selection Function | version 1.8.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Cloud Native Core Service Communication Proxy | version 1.15.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Essbase | < 11.1.2.4.047≥ 21.0 and < 21.3 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Mysql Server | ≤ 5.7.34≥ 8.0.0 and ≤ 8.0.25 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Sinec Infrastructure Network Services | < 1.0.1.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Splunk | Universal Forwarder | ≥ 8.2.0 and < 8.2.12≥ 9.0.0 and < 9.0.6version 9.1.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8.1 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 2.2 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 8.1 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 6.8 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 8.6 | 6.4 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 60.12%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- CVSS changed · 8.1
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2021
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
17 on the record
- www.oracle.com//security-alerts/cpujul2021.html
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpuapr2022.html
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpujan2022.html
- curl.se/docs/CVE-2021-22901.html
- github.com/curl/curl/commit/7f4a9a9b2a49547eae24d2e19bc5c346e9026479
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/pdf/ssa-389290.pdf
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20210723-0001
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-732250.html
- hackerone.com/reports/1180380
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2021-22901
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20210727-0007
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/pdf/ssa-732250.pdf
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-vjwf-ghhc-2p8q
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20210723-0001/
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20210727-0007/
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-389290.html
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Critical CVE-2024-54085 AMI MegaRAC SPx Authentication Bypass by Spoofing Vulnerability KEV Mar 11, 2025
- High CVE-2025-0665 eventfd double close Feb 5, 2025
- Low CVE-2025-0167 netrc and default credential leak Feb 5, 2025
- High CVE-2025-0725 gzip integer overflow Feb 5, 2025
- High CVE-2025-0411 7-Zip Mark of the Web Bypass Vulnerability KEV Jan 25, 2025
- Low CVE-2024-11053 netrc and redirect credential leak Dec 11, 2024
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2021-22901 is "curl 7.75.0 through 7.76.1 suffers from a use-after-free vulnerability resulting in already freed...", rated High. It affects Curl (Haxx); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 8.1 describes technical severity. EPSS 60.12% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.