CVE-2021-23337 — Command Injection
Lodash versions prior to 4.17.21 are vulnerable to Command Injection via the template function.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Public exploit/PoC (nuclei)+4
- EPSS 21.3% (30-day exploitation probability)+15
- Technical severity (high)+6
- Automatable exploitation (SSVC)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented patch — cert-portal.siemens.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented patch — www.oracle.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Npm Lodash: fixed in version 4.17.21 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
- Npm Lodash-es: fixed in version 4.17.21 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
- Rubygems Lodash-rails: fixed in version 4.17.21 — github.com (GitHub Security Advisories)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Lodash Lodash, Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager, Netapp Cloud Manager…).
- Apply the fixed version or the patch documented under Remediation.
- EPSS ahead of 98% of scored CVEs: prioritize it in the patch queue.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (injection), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lodash | Lodash | < 4.17.21 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Active Iq Unified Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Cloud Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | System Manager | version 9.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Banking Corporate Lending Process Management | version 14.5.0version 14.3.0version 14.2.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Banking Credit Facilities Process Management | version 14.5.0version 14.3.0version 14.2.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Banking Extensibility Workbench | version 14.5.0version 14.3.0version 14.2.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Banking Supply Chain Finance | version 14.5.0version 14.3.0version 14.2.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Banking Trade Finance Process Management | version 14.5.0version 14.3.0version 14.2.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Cloud Native Core Binding Support Function | version 1.9.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Cloud Native Core Policy | version 1.11.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Design Studio | version 7.4.2.0.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Services Gatekeeper | version 7.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Communications Session Border Controller | version 8.4version 9.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Enterprise Communications Broker | version 3.3.0version 3.2.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Financial Services Crime And Compliance Management Studio | version 8.0.8.3.0version 8.0.8.2.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Health Sciences Data Management Workbench | version 3.0.0.0version 2.5.2.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Jd Edwards Enterpriseone Tools | < 9.2.6.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools | version 8.58version 8.59 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Primavera Gateway | ≥ 17.12.0 and ≤ 17.12.11≥ 20.12.0 and ≤ 20.12.7≥ 19.12.0 and ≤ 19.12.11≥ 18.8.0 and ≤ 18.8.12 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Primavera Unifier | version 19.12≥ 17.7 and ≤ 17.12version 18.8version 20.12 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Oracle | Retail Customer Management And Segmentation Foundation | version 19.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Siemens | Sinec Ins | < 1.0version 1.0version 1.0-sp1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Npm | Lodash | < 4.17.21 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
| Npm | Lodash-es | < 4.17.21 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
| Npm | Lodash.template | ≤ 4.5.0≤ 1.0.0 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
| Rubygems | Lodash-rails | < 4.17.21 | Vulnerable | GitHub Security Advisories |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.2 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.2 | 5.9 | report@snyk.io via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.2 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.2 | 5.9 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.2 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
| 7.2 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | snyk via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| 6.5 | CVSS 2.0 | Medium | 8.0 | 6.4 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 21.33%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Look for parameters with command/query metacharacters and unexpected child processes of the service.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Fix documented
- Affected products added · npm/lodash, npm/lodash-es, npm/lodash.template, npm/lodash-template, rubygems/lodash-rails
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- CVSS changed · 7.2
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2021
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× References added · Oct 15, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
19 on the record
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/pdf/ssa-637483.pdf
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpuoct2021.html
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpujan2022.html
- www.oracle.com/security-alerts/cpujul2022.html
- www.oracle.com//security-alerts/cpujul2021.html
- snyk.io/vuln/SNYK-JAVA-ORGWEBJARS-1074930
- github.com/rubysec/ruby-advisory-db/blob/master/gems/lodash-rails/CVE-2021-23337
- snyk.io/vuln/SNYK-JAVA-ORGWEBJARSBOWERGITHUBLODASH-1074931
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2021-23337
- snyk.io/vuln/SNYK-JS-LODASH-1040724
- github.com/lodash/lodash/blob/ddfd9b11a0126db2302cb70ec9973b66baec0975/lodash.js
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-35jh-r3h4-6jhm
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20210312-0006
- github.com/lodash/lodash/commit/3469357cff396a26c363f8c1b5a91dde28ba4b1c
- snyk.io/vuln/SNYK-JAVA-ORGWEBJARSBOWER-1074928
- snyk.io/vuln/SNYK-JAVA-ORGFUJIONWEBJARS-1074932
- github.com/lodash/lodash/blob/ddfd9b11a0126db2302cb70ec9973b66baec0975/lodash.js
- snyk.io/vuln/SNYK-JAVA-ORGWEBJARSNPM-1074929
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20210312-0006/
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-87264 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
- High CVE-2026-83206 Improper Access Control in Oracle Banking Corporate Lending Process Management Sep 15, 2026
- High CVE-2026-83017 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
- High CVE-2026-83019 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
- High CVE-2026-83018 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
- High CVE-2026-83016 Improper Access Control in Oracle Peoplesoft Enterprise Peopletools Sep 15, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2021-23337 is "Command Injection", rated High. It affects Lodash (Lodash); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.2 describes technical severity. EPSS 21.33% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.