CVE-2023-27537 — A double free vulnerability exists in libcurl <8.0.0 when sharing HSTS data between separate ...
A double free vulnerability exists in libcurl <8.0.0 when sharing HSTS data between separate "handles". This sharing was introduced without considerations for do this sharing across separate threads but there was no indication of this fact in the documentation. Due to missing mutexes or thread locks, two threads sharing the same HSTS data could end up doing a double-free or use-after-free.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- EPSS 1.9% (30-day exploitation probability)+12
- Technical severity (medium)+3
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Broadcom Brocade Fabric Operating System Firmware, Haxx Libcurl, Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager…).
- The attack is network-based and needs no privileges: restrict exposure (ACLs, VPN, WAF) until patched.
- No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
- Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (memory corruption), errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Broadcom | Brocade Fabric Operating System Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Haxx | Libcurl | version 7.88.0version 7.88.1 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Active Iq Unified Manager | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | Clustered Data Ontap | version 9.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H300s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H410s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H500s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Netapp | H700s Firmware | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| Splunk | Universal Forwarder | ≥ 8.2.0 and < 8.2.12≥ 9.0.0 and < 9.0.6version 9.1.0 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5.9 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | 2.2 | 3.6 | nvd@nist.gov via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 5.9 | CVSS 3.1 | Medium | — | — | GitHub, Inc. via GitHub Security Advisories |
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H (score shown at the top: nvd@nist.gov) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 14, 2026 → Oct 15, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 1.90%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Prioritize edge telemetry for the network-reachable component (proxy, WAF, IDS/IPS).
- Correlate service crashes/restarts with inbound traffic; repeated crashes may indicate attempts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Record published
- Affected products added · haxx/libcurl, netapp/active iq unified manager, netapp/clustered data ontap, broadcom/brocade fabric operating system fi
- CVSS changed · 5.9
- Source status changed · → Modified
- Record created in this database
- 2023
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 2× References added · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 14, 2026 – Oct 14, 2026
References
8 on the record
- nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2023-27537
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20230420-0010/
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-398330.html
- hackerone.com/reports/1897203
- github.com/advisories/GHSA-9j2c-vm53-wcvm
- cert-portal.siemens.com/productcert/html/ssa-943925.html
- security.netapp.com/advisory/ntap-20230420-0010
- security.gentoo.org/glsa/202310-12
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- Critical CVE-2024-54085 AMI MegaRAC SPx Authentication Bypass by Spoofing Vulnerability KEV Mar 11, 2025
- Low CVE-2025-0167 netrc and default credential leak Feb 5, 2025
- High CVE-2025-0665 eventfd double close Feb 5, 2025
- High CVE-2025-0725 gzip integer overflow Feb 5, 2025
- High CVE-2025-0411 7-Zip Mark of the Web Bypass Vulnerability KEV Jan 25, 2025
- Low CVE-2024-11053 netrc and redirect credential leak Dec 11, 2024
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
- No CISA SSVC assessment.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2023-27537 is "A double free vulnerability exists in libcurl <8.0.0 when sharing HSTS data between separate ...", rated Medium. It affects Brocade Fabric Operating System Firmware (Broadcom); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 5.9 describes technical severity. EPSS 1.90% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.