CVE Intelligence
High Authentication

CVE-2026-15416 — Argo-cd: argo cd unauthenticated remote code execution in repo-server via generatemanifest grpc endpoint

A flaw was identified in Argo CD, the GitOps engine used by Red Hat OpenShift GitOps, that could allow an unauthenticated attacker with network access to the Argo CD repo-server to achieve remote code execution. Under certain conditions, the attacker may then manipulate cached data to deploy malicious Kubernetes resources to managed clusters, potentially resulting in complete cluster compromise.

Published Jul 14, 2026 · Updated Oct 15, 2026 · Sources: NIST National Vulnerability Database, CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP · CNA: redhat

Who exploits it and how urgent it is

A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.

No exploitation signal in the sources consulted so far.
How the score was calculated
  • Technical severity (high)+6

The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).

Triage

Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.

Exploitation
Not confirmed
Not in CISA KEV — an absence of record, not proof it is unexploited.
EPSS FIRST
—
No EPSS score.
Affects
Argoproj
Argo-helm and 2 more
CVSS base
8.9
High · 2 source(s)

CISA SSVC assessment CISA

Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.

Exploitation
None
none · proof-of-concept · active
Automatable
No
can an attacker script the kill-chain steps
Technical impact
Partial
partial · total control of the vulnerable component

Remediation

Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.

No fix documented by the sources we poll. That does not mean none exists: check the vendor advisory.

First 24 hours

Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.

  1. Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Argoproj Argo-helm, Red Hat Openshift Gitops, Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift GitOps 1.19).
  2. No fix documented in the sources: reduce exposure and monitor the vendor advisory.
  3. Search available logs for exploit probes matching the vulnerability class (authentication), errors and authentication anomalies.

Affected scope

Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.

VendorProductVersionsStatusSource
Argoproj Argo-helm < 10.0.0 Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Openshift Gitops versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat OpenShift GitOps 1.19 versions not specified by the source Vulnerable CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP

Attack characteristics

The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.

Attack vector
Adjacent
Attack complexity
Low
Privileges required
Low
User interaction
None
Scope
Changed
Confidentiality
High
Integrity
High
Availability
Low

Every base score collected

Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.

ScoreVersionSeverityExpl.ImpactScored by
8.9 CVSS 3.1 High 2.3 6.0 secalert@redhat.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database
8.9 CVSS 3.1 High — — redhat via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
CVSS:3.1/AV:A/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:L (score shown at the top: secalert@redhat.com)

Weakness MITRE

Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.

CWE-306 · Missing Authentication for Critical Function

Other CVEs with this weakness →

Detection

Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.

  • Review authentication logs: logins without MFA, anomalous sessions and recently created accounts.
authentication logs

Timeline

What happened to this CVE, newest first.

  • 2026
  • Affected products added · argoproj/argo-helm, red hat/red hat openshift gitops 1.19, red hat/red hat openshift gitops
    Oct 15, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • SSVC assessment updated
    Oct 15, 2026 · CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP
  • Record published
    Oct 15, 2026
  • CVSS changed · 8.9
    Oct 15, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Source status changed · → Awaiting Analysis
    Oct 15, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • Record created in this database
    Oct 15, 2026 · NIST National Vulnerability Database
  • CVE published
    Jul 14, 2026 · redhat

Source activity

Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.

  • 1× Official description updated · Oct 15, 2026 – Oct 15, 2026

References

7 on the record

Elsewhere on this site

Argoproj
every CVE for this vendor
Authentication
same class
CWE-306
other pages naming this weakness

Related CVEs (same products)

  • High CVE-2026-14251 Gitops-operator: gitops-operator: missing allowednamespace check in reconcilerhook for clusterrole/role cases enables potential privilege escalation and dos Jul 15, 2026
  • High CVE-2026-62185 Argo CD Helm Chart < 10.0.0 Missing Network Policy RCE Jul 13, 2026
  • Critical CVE-2026-6388 ArgoCD Image Updater: cross-namespace privilege escalation via ImageUpdater resources Apr 15, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2025-11065 Github.com/go-viper/mapstructure/v2: go-viper's mapstructure may leak sensitive information in logs in github.com/go-viper/mapstructure Jan 26, 2026
  • Medium CVE-2024-9355 Golang-fips: golang fips zeroed buffer Oct 1, 2024
  • High CVE-2024-1394 Golang-fips/openssl: memory leaks in code encrypting and decrypting rsa payloads Mar 21, 2024

Not in any source we poll

Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.

  • No FIRST EPSS score.
  • No fixed version, patch or mitigation documented.
  • No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
  • No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
  • No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.

Answered from this record

Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.

What should defenders know first?

CVE-2026-15416 is "Argo-cd: argo cd unauthenticated remote code execution in repo-server via generatemanifest grpc endpoint", rated High. It affects Argo-helm (Argoproj); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 8.9 describes technical severity. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.

Comments

Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.

No comments yet.

Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.