CVE-2026-3888 — Local Privilege Escalation in snapd
Local privilege escalation in snapd on Linux allows local attackers to get root privilege by re-creating snap's private /tmp directory when systemd-tmpfiles is configured to automatically clean up this directory. This issue affects Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, 18.04 LTS, 20.04 LTS, 22.04 LTS, and 24.04 LTS.
Who exploits it and how urgent it is
A 0–100 score combining confirmed exploitation, ransomware and APT use, public exploits, EPSS and severity.
How the score was calculated
- Public exploit/PoC (metasploit)+12
- EPSS 0.5% (30-day exploitation probability)+6
- Technical severity (high)+6
The score orders the patch queue; it does not replace your asset context (internet exposure, criticality, compensating controls).
Triage
Is it exploited, how likely is exploitation, what does it touch, and how severe do the sources call it.
CISA SSVC assessment CISA
Three decision points CISA publishes for the CVEs it assesses (SSVC 2.0.3). A stakeholder decision, not a severity score.
Remediation
Fixes and mitigations documented by the sources — linked to the original advisory.
- Documented mitigation — blog.qualys.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
- Documented mitigation — discourse.ubuntu.com (NIST National Vulnerability Database)
First 24 hours
Ordered from the record’s own fields — exposure first, because you cannot patch what you have not found. A rule-generated starting point.
- Identify exposed assets running the affected vendor/product/version combinations (Canonical Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, Canonical Ubuntu 18.04 LTS, Canonical Ubuntu 20.04 LTS…).
- Apply the documented mitigations until a definitive fix is available.
- Search available logs for exploit probes, errors and authentication anomalies.
Affected scope
Vendor, product and versions as the sources word them.
| Vendor | Product | Versions | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canonical | Ubuntu 16.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 18.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 20.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 22.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu 24.04 LTS | versions not specified by the source | Vulnerable | CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
| Canonical | Ubuntu Linux | version 16.04version 18.04version 20.04version 22.04version 24.04 | Vulnerable | NIST National Vulnerability Database |
Attack characteristics
The CVSS vector, decoded. It describes the attack, not your exposure to it.
Every base score collected
Sources score independently and may disagree; each row says who scored it and under which version.
| Score | Version | Severity | Expl. | Impact | Scored by |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | 1.1 | 6.0 | security@ubuntu.com via NIST National Vulnerability Database |
| 7.8 | CVSS 3.1 | High | — | — | canonical via CVE Program (cve.org) e CISA ADP |
CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H (score shown at the top: security@ubuntu.com) Weakness MITRE
Weakness class according to MITRE’s CWE catalog.
Public exploits, PoCs and detection templates
Public code that demonstrates or tests the flaw raises the odds of mass exploitation — and Nuclei templates help find vulnerable assets in your environment.
- Local Privilege Escalation in snapd excellent Mar 17, 2026
Warning: public PoCs are sometimes disguised malware. Use them only for authorized testing in an isolated environment. This portal does not host exploit code — it only points to the sources.
EPSS over time FIRST
Oct 13, 2026 → Oct 14, 2026 · 2 reading(s) · max 0.48%
Detection
Read off the CVSS vector and the weakness class. Starting points, not tested rules.
- Local/physical vector: focus on endpoint telemetry (EDR) from affected hosts.
Timeline
What happened to this CVE, newest first.
- 2026
- Affected products added · canonical/ubuntu 16.04 lts, canonical/ubuntu 18.04 lts, canonical/ubuntu 20.04 lts, canonical/ubuntu 22.04 lts, canonica
- SSVC assessment updated
- Record published
- Fix documented
- CVSS changed · 7.8
- Source status changed · → Analyzed
- Record created in this database
- CVE published
Source activity
Repeated readings are counted rather than listed.
- 1× Official description updated · Oct 13, 2026 – Oct 13, 2026
References
6 on the record
- blog.qualys.com/vulnerabilities-threat-research/2026/03/17/cve-2026-3888-important-sn
- discourse.ubuntu.com/t/snapd-local-privilege-escalation-cve-2026-3888
- ubuntu.com/security/CVE-2026-3888
- www.openwall.com/lists/oss-security/2026/03/18/1
- ubuntu.com/security/notices/USN-8102-1
- cdn2.qualys.com/advisory/2026/03/17/snap-confine-systemd-tmpfiles.txt
Elsewhere on this site
Related CVEs (same products)
- High CVE-2026-8933 snap-confine Local Privilege Escalation via Capabilities Misconfiguration or Flaw in Execution Environment Setup Jul 21, 2026
- High CVE-2026-15226 snapd snap-confine Sandbox Confinement Bypass via Omission of setuid Restriction in Seccomp Templates Jul 21, 2026
- Medium CVE-2024-5300 AppArmor Base Profile Misconfiguration in snapd Permits Confined Snaps Unauthorized Access to Hashed Passwords via systemd-userdbd Jul 21, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-9494 ubuntu-pro-client Information Disclosure via Cleartext Bearer Token Exposure in Process Command Line Jul 16, 2026
- Critical CVE-2026-11386 ubuntu-pro-client Input Validation Vulnerability Leading to Arbitrary APT Directive Injection and Remote Code Execution Jul 16, 2026
- Medium CVE-2026-12391 ubuntu-pro-client Local Privilege Escalation and Information Disclosure via Symlink Arbitrary File Read in collect-logs Jul 16, 2026
Not in any source we poll
Listed rather than left blank: an empty field and an unmeasured one look identical on screen, and only one is a reason to look elsewhere.
- No confirmed IOCs, IP addresses, domains, file hashes, or malware artifacts supplied.
- No organization-specific asset inventory, compensating-control status, or patch deployment evidence supplied.
- No exploit packet captures, log samples, or incident case IDs supplied.
Answered from this record
Text assembled only from the fields above — no additional claims.
What should defenders know first?
CVE-2026-3888 is "Local Privilege Escalation in snapd", rated High. It affects Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (Canonical); versions are in the scope table. It is not in CISA KEV, which does not rule out exploitation. CVSS 7.8 describes technical severity. EPSS 0.48% estimates the probability of exploitation in 30 days; neither replaces your asset context. First verify whether exposed or business-critical assets run the affected versions, apply vendor fixes or mitigations, and preserve logs for review.
Comments
Moderated technical discussion. Read the community guidelines.
No comments yet.
Sign in or create an account to comment and suggest corrections.